Meadow Dreams

22 07 2009

Couple months ago I read Rod Barbee’s article on NatureScapes.net called “Meadow Diving” and I realized that that’s exactly what I sometimes do. I like this expression and I use it nowadays. I collect photographs taken this way in a series called “Meadow Dreams”. What is it all about?

Well, you grab your camera with macro lens or a zoom lens and optionally a close-up filter, set it to the longest focal length and set aperture wide open, equip yourself with patience, and waterproof trousers if there was a rain, go outside, find some nice meadow with blooming flowers and simply dive into it – knee or lay on the ground, depending on the hight of grass, and look through the viewfinder of your camera for some interesting compositions.

As you need a blooming meadow the most suitable season for taking this kind of photography seems to be spring but you can try it even in summer or maybe also during autumn. There is a LOT of interesting things and details, not only flowers and blossoms, which you can include into your photos.

I found some appealing compositions when looking through higher grass straws to some smaller blooming flowers behind them focusing to nothing particular as on the following photo. Those pink hues are blooming clover.

Meadow Dreams I

~ Meadow Dreams Series ~
1/60 sec. @ 70 mm, f/8, ISO 200

You can even try to focus on some subject but then it should be only one subject or if you want to have more in focus you should assure that the composition is still pleasing.

Meadow dreams II

~ Meadow Dreams Series ~
1/60 sec. @ 70 mm, f/8, ISO 320

If you are lucky, you can struck on the macro landscape like the following one. The yellow “sun” is some kind of Ranunculus and the blue “pond” are Myosotis flowers (Forget-me-nots).

Meadow dreams III

~ Meadow Dreams Series ~
1/60 sec. @ 70 mm, f/5, ISO 800

The key element in this type of photography is light. It doesn’t matter in which phase of a day you take the photo but you definitely need the light bringing very nice atmosphere to the photograph such as in the first photo. The afternoon and evening light is great, I haven’t tried the morning light but I guess that it will be pleasing, too, as it is very soft.

For your information: all the photographs above were taken by the end of last May, first two after noon, the last one in the early evening. Canon EOS 450D with Canon EF L 70-200mm f/4 IS USM and HOYA close-up filter +4 was used.

So, if you like this kind of photography, there’s nothing easier than getting outside, finding some nice blooming meadow and diving into it 😉

Have a nice summer days!


Actions

Information

9 responses

22 07 2009
Bernie Kasper

Great site, your images are wonderful !!

22 07 2009
Bernie Kasper

BTW I will give you a link on my site !!

22 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie, I left a comment on your blog.

23 07 2009
Anita

These are lovely. I like the soft feel, the colors, and the patterns. Very nice! This technique is similar to that described by Michael Brown
I see you have his website on your blog list.

Many THANKS for including my photoblog on your list! I’m honored.

23 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for stopping by, Anita. I haven’t mentioned it in the post but the technique used for capturing these fine images is truly the one described by Michael Brown. To be honest, Michael and his work has probably the biggest impact on my current photography.

24 07 2009
edvatza

Your Meadow Dreams series as well as the Day Lily series are both excellent. And yes, when I opened your site, I thought I had opened “Macro Art in Nature”. You know what they say… imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

And if you check around my site, you know how much I enjoy day lily images. Nicely done.

24 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for kind words Ed. I hope that I won’t be signed as an “imitator of Michael Brown” as I take him as an inspiration. I use some of his techniques but I try to use them my way for taking my images. I’m not trying to copy someone.

3 08 2009
Meadow Dreams continue… « Close Nature

[…] Dreams continue… 3 08 2009 I wrote about my Meadow Dreams Series here some 2 weeks ago and it seems that you liked it. Whereas the first presented photos were taken […]

6 01 2010
First year of photography « Close Nature

[…] kind of photography I want to make. You can find this and other photos from this series in 2 posts, here and […]

Leave a comment