Japanese Maple Leaves

26 07 2009

I like tree leaves, especially when they are backlit by warm evening rays of sun light. I don’t have any favourite tree but if I would have to choose one it would be a Japanese Maple, especially the one with red leaves. I like how they decorate garden by it’s nice red colour, how it bows above a garden lake creating calm shadow – an oasis of peace.

I took following photos two weeks ago when I was on our cottage in Beskydy mountains testing new macro lens. Our neighbour has a small lake with couple of trees, bushes and flowers around it there and one of trees is Japanese maple. It was in the morning, sun was not so high in the sky, yet, and its rays beautifully illuminated these red leaves.

Japanese-Maple-Tree-Leaves I

1/100 sec. @ 100mm, f/4, ISO 320

Here I tried something more artistic and I like the result.

Japanese-Maple-Tree-Leaves-II

1/100 sec. @ 100mm, f/4, ISO 400

On the last one I really like the contrast between red colour of leaves and green veins.

Japanese-Maple-Tree-Leaves-III

1/125 sec. @ 100mm, f/4, ISO 200

There is infinity of possibilities so if this is not exactly your cup of tea why not give it a try? Maybe you’ll be surprised by the outputs.

Technical information: all photographs were taken with Canon EOS 450D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 macro USM lens.

Have a nice summer days!

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 07 2009
edvatza

I too really like the color in the last image and the way the veins show through. I kinda wish the shadow from the leaf above wasn’t there though. Otherwise very nice image.

27 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Ed, thank you for your comment. You are right that it would be better without that shadow. Thanks for stopping by.

27 07 2009
Barbara

Tomas: Yes, I agree with edvatza. The backlighting is wonderful, but beware of merging elements. I love Japanese maples – and my backyard is home to 2 of them!

28 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Barbara. What do you mean that I should be beware of?

29 07 2009
Barbara

Watchful – like checking all the edges of your frame before you shoot to be sure there are no other elements competing for the attention of your main subject. In this case, the shadow was there. Hope this makes sense!

29 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for explanation Barbara. Yes, it makes sense.

28 07 2009
Bernie Kasper

Beautiful color and composition Tomas, love the soft colors and effect in this, well done !!

28 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

