Photos from new macro lens

17 07 2009

Finally, I was able to prepare some of the very first photos from my new macro lens for posting. To say at least few words to the lens – it’s very sharp and the AF is incredibly fast and precise. It’s just perfect. Unfortunately the viewfinder in my camera seems to be too small for shooting macro so I see the image sharp in the viewfinder but later when I look at it on monitor I can see that the focal plane is 1 or 2 mm off (this happens when I use manual focus). I’m starting to consider buying a tripod seriously. OK, enough talking, here are those new images:

Cosmos-bipinnatus

~ Cosmos Bipinnatus ~
1/100 sec. @ 100mm, F5, ISO 400
Canon EOS 450D, Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

We call them Beauties in our language. They are not commonly seen wild, they are mostly planted in gardens even though they are not considered to be priced flowers.

White-Campanula

~ White Campanula ~
1/125 sec. @ 100mm, F8, ISO 200
Canon EOS 450D, Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

These are quite rare to be seen growing wild whereas their blue cousins can be seen everywhere in late spring.

Daucus-Carota-750px

~ Daucus Carota (Wild carrot) ~
1/250 sec. @ 100mm, F5.6, ISO 200
Canon EOS 450D, Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

I never knew it’s a wild carrot until I looked into an encyclopaedia for an ID. These are pretty common here, it seems that they are on every single meadow blooming now.

I hope you like it. Have a nice weekend!


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 07 2009
Bernie Kasper

I love the perspective in this one Tomas, beautiful image and subject, well done !!

23 07 2009
Anita

VEry nice, especially the last image. This is an angle and composition I haven’t seen used for wild carrot/Queen Anne’s Lace. I like it a lot.

I know exactly what you mean about being a fraction off focus. I believe your camera has Live View. Live View has been my salvation re. exact focusing. I also use a tripod as I have a rather unsteady hand. A tripod takes some getting used to, but I use it almost exclusively. Key elements in a tripod for me are: light weight, maneuverable.

10 07 2017
Carin

Skype has launched its internet-structured customer beta towards the entire
world, following launching it extensively within the United states
and You.K. earlier this calendar month. Skype for Online also now facilitates Linux and Chromebook for instant text messaging connection (no voice and video however, individuals call for a plug-in set up).

The expansion of your beta adds support for an extended set of languages to help reinforce that worldwide
user friendliness

Leave a comment