Daylilies 2011

29 07 2011

Daylilies are flowers which brought me to macro photography and to flower photography in general. We have a daylily “bush” in a garden and I try to take some photos of it every year when it is in bloom. This year their season is slowly ending and so I am posting my latest attempts.


~ A Probe ~
0.5 sec @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100
Click on the photo to see it in bigger resolution.

The more photos of one subject you take the more complicated it is to take another and not repeat yourself. With daylilies I still focus fully on “colour flows” and lines but I am also looking for something unique in the blossoms that would make the photo special. In the photo above it is the stigma which is usually erected out from a blossom but sometimes it stays inside.


~ A Lift ~
0.4 sec. @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100
Click on the photo to see it in bigger resolution.

I like to look for an interesting interaction between abstract shapes and lines supported by colour gradients. In the photo above two stamens were going in parallel evoking look of those double glass lifts. Lifts for insect perhaps.

Photos above are “common” ones, with minimal post processing. As I was working with the photos below I thought that perhaps it’s time to try something a little bit different. To make these abstracts a little bit more special.


0.4 sec. @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100
Click on the photo to see it in bigger resolution.

Image rotation, low contrast and high brightness did the trick here. I was tempted to give it title “Ribs” but I resisted because the photo evokes pleasant feelings in me which wouldn’t persist if I would use the title.

Brightness slider went unusually high also for last photo even though not as high as for the previous one. I like the juicy colours in this one.


0.3 sec @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100
Click on the photo to see it in bigger resolution.

All these photos were taken indoor this time. The blossom was on the windowsill to absorb as much sun light as possible and then slightly shaded from direct light so the colours could pop. Without shading the colours and light were too strong, too harsh. I will be definitely glad for your opinions and if you would like to compare it with my daylily photos from previous years, here they are (2010, 2009).

Enojy the weekend!

Technical information: all photos in this post were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens on a tripod; under natural conditions.

Actions

Information

14 responses

29 07 2011
chasingtimemedia

great shots! the colors are beautiful:)

29 07 2011
tedgriffith

Beautiful images, and thanks for the information as well!

30 07 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank Ted and “media sisters” 🙂

1 08 2011
Barbara Kile

Love the abstracts! #1 is my fav!

1 08 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Barbara.

1 08 2011
Anita Bower

It is hard to go wrong with the fabulous colors of this daylily. The lighting you created was perfect. The first is my favorite, with the second number 2. You have lovely images in prior years!

1 08 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Anita. It’s interesting that everyone seems to like the first 2 photos with unaltered colours more than the rest.

1 08 2011
Ken Bello

These are all fabulous, Tomas. I like the smooth, even lighting that makes the colors vivid. You have a nice portfolio with these combined with last years.

1 08 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Ken. Lighting is crucial for this kind of photos. I remember that I took the first photo but didn’t shade the flower, then remembered to shade it but I was already taking photo no. 2 and had to recompose to 1st one and take it again. I was glad that I found out it so soon.

2 08 2011
milkayphoto

You’ve given a whole new (beautiful) perspective to daylilies!

I, too, struggle with getting that ‘different’ image of something I’ve photographed numerous times. I love the concentration on color and shapes here. So very lovely!

2 08 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Tracy. I’m pleased that you like it.

12 08 2011
Mark

Wow, these are all terrific! Very inspirational looks at these flowers.

13 08 2011
Tomas Turecek

Oh, thanks, Mark. I’m really glad you like them.

14 09 2011
Ingrid

Hi Tomas,
Looking at your photographs you can see why the painter Georgia O’Keeffe was so inspired by plants. Lovely!!

Leave a Reply

