Two years of blogging

29 06 2011

Today it is exactly 2 years from my first post on this blog and I think that it is a good opportunity for sharing some statistics and small elaboration on those years with you.

First the statistics:

  • Posts
  • Visits
    • There was 11567 visits in those 2 years.
    • Number of visits has grown by 43% in the second year of my blogging.
    • Average number of visits in first year was 14 while 19 in second year.
    • The busiest day so far was April 11, 2011 with 70 visits.

While thinking about the posts and my progress in photography in those 2 years I think that I still take photos with the same intention – capturing details which we can see every day but which we don’t realize or which we simply overlook as common or not interesting.  I try to work with impressions. I want my photos to impress viewers for which purpose I work with colours, simple shapes and sometimes with processing which makes certain photo everything but common.

I heard that most of blogs won’t survive 13th month of life. It is true that previous year was demanding at me and I had a lot of other things than photography to focus on. Result was that  I haven’t had even thoughts for photography and I was glad if I was able to make a post per month, sometimes not even this. With this year approaching I got a new energy to my veins and I can say that I have been focusing on photography much more in past months than in any time in those past 2 years. Hopefully it does not have effect on quality of my late photos but I will leave this up to your decision.

When it comes to my source of inspiration, at first place it is nature itself. There is so many interesting subjects in so many forms that I’m really not afraid of running out of subjects and ideas for photos. At second place it is you, photographers with similar scope in photography. I am following photo blogs and photo sites such as flickr on daily basis which provides decent amount of excellent photos which inspires me in some ways. As time goes by some photographers have become silent and in such cases I always wonder what happened to them. We never know what awaits us.

When I was thinking about suitable photo for this post I came across following one which, as I think, sums up one side of my photography. It is a photo of Gerbera taken some months ago. I was interested by those bold colours. I don’t remember what was the source of the violet in the background I only know that it was some other flower.


~ I LOVE Colours ! ~
1/500 sec. @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100

Looking at the visits, it really impresses me and I want to give a BIG “THANK YOU” to all of you who are visiting my site either accidentally, sporadically or continuously. You all help me in getting this blog further and you help me also with my photography either by giving constructive feedback or simply by your visits which creates a demand for another posts.

Thank you all and I am really looking forward writing similar post after another year.

Enjoy summer!

Technical information: photograph in this post was taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens with HOYA Close up +4 (dioptres) filter, in natural conditions.

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 06 2011
Jolene Hanson

Congratulations on making it two years! That’s a huge accomplishment. 🙂

29 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I visited your blog quickly today and I will surely go back to give comments soon.

29 06 2011
Anita Bower

Congratulations on two years of photo-blogging! Thank you for sharing your beautiful work with us. I also thank you for the thoughtful and honest comments you post on my blog. I love the connections and learning made possible by the internet!!!

29 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Anita for being pleasant and helpful advisor and also source of inspiration. I also like sharing knowledge and experience via internet very much.

29 06 2011
tedgriffith

Congratulations!!! And thanks for persevering, it gives me hope that I too will be able to achieve at least 2 years. Your post is an encouraging to me when I dispair about posting or not even having the energy to take pictures. Thanks!

29 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Ted. I’ll tell it from different point of view – it’s hard to not continue if you have great followers with which you inspire each other. I wish you a lot energy which you could invest into your photography.

Leave a Reply

