Common weed

4 06 2011

I think that we all see dandelions as common weed which is not always easy to get rid of. On the other hand we all usually enjoy view on a meadow glowing with golden colour of thousands and thousands dandelions.

Last year I took some detailed photos of a dandelion which you can find in this post. Also this year I have decided to take some dandelion photos but this time I wanted to try shooting seed heads.

1/160 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 100

I used “Aged photo” preset in Lightroom 3.4 and did only couple of additional tweaks.

1/400 sec. @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100

You can see a lot of dandelion photos nowadays on flickr and other photo related sites so I wanted to create something unseen and I think that I achieved it with this photo. At least I never saw anything similar. I used Lightroom’s “Creamtone”preset and did additional adjustments. I think it could look really nice on a big format.

I saw uncountable amount of dandelion photos with water dropplets so I wanted to try to have some mine, of course.

1/500 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 100

This was taken one foggy morning after the fog has dissappeared and after sun had some time to dry everything soaked due to fog. I visualized this with strong contrast and still soft. I hope that I made it. Whole processing was done in Lightroom without using any preset this time.

I originally thought that I will use the same processing for all these photos making nice triptych but it did not work. Each photo asked for different processing and I think it’s much better this way. What do you think?

Thanks for visiting and enjoy summer!

Technical information: all photographies in this post were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens mounted to a tripod, in natural conditions, indoors.

Actions

Information

10 responses

5 06 2011
Ken Bello

All three are really beautiful, Tomas. I like the fresh approach to the compositions and the processing are very complimentary. They will make excellent posters.

5 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Ken. I appreciatte your positive comment.

6 06 2011
milkayphoto

I LOVE shooting dandelions! You’ve shot the cypselas and calyxes very nicely, Tomas! 🙂

6 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank Tracy. You said it with such passion 🙂

8 06 2011
Anita Bower

VEry, very nice!! You have an excellent eye for composition and it shows in these three images. I love the selective focus–sharp in just the right place and the rest soft. Beautiful processing as well. Beautiful images!!!!

8 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Anita. You are flattering me 🙂

11 06 2011
A Creative Adventure/denise ippolito

Love the first image and wish it were mine!!

11 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Denise, such a big compliment! Thank you very much.

21 06 2011
Mark

Very nice shots Tomas. I find it interesting that you also label them as weeds on the other side of the world. Quite often I find weeds in one place are labeled “wildflowers” in another region.

21 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank, Mark. Perhaps it depends on amount and spread of the flower. Meadows and gardens are infested by dandelions in our country therefore they are much often seen as weed rather than wildeflowers. With oxeye daisies, poppies or corflowers it’s vice versa.

Leave a Reply

