Macro abstracts of Freesia? No way.

13 05 2011

At least that’s what I always thought. I told myself that freesia blossoms lack details to be good subject for macro photos and they are too small to stand as models for abstract shots, I thought. When my wife got a bouquet of freesias a week ago I wasn’t realy interested until I saw them in beautiful warm evening light shining thru them. I grabbed a camera and looked for some compositions with magnification ratio set very near to 1:1 and what I saw simply amazed me. I took one, two, three photos, all great to me and I suddenly realized that I couldn’t have been more wrong thinking that freesias can’t be good subject for macro or abstract photography! I set up my tripod and my first indoors evening shooting session started.

Here is the first photo from it. Please, click on photos below to see them in bigger resolution. It is much better.

1/6 sec. @ 100 mm, f/2.8, ISO 100

I really like how those stamens(?) look like a star symbol or a symbol from china alphabet.

Do you know that feeling when you take a photo, check it on camera’s LCD and you really like it already? You “KNOW” that this is something very good? That’s what I felt when I saw all the photos from this post on camera’s LCD. I really, really like them and I wonder what will be your reactions.

Ok, let’s take a look at another photo.

~ Floating Camel ~
1/8 sec. @ 100mm, f/4,  ISO 100

Can you see the camel? 🙂 This photo works well also upside down and I think that it would make great diptych with previous one.

I was simply mesmerized by those colours beautifully blending to each other. Freesias has many blossoms on one stem and even those can vary in colour. Every blossom is unique and it gives endless possibilities to a photographer. The bouquet contained also simply yellow and white blossoms but these weren’t so interesting for me. I rather worked with those having multiple colours like the next one.

1/15 sec. @ 100mm, f/4, ISO 100

This is a crop from original photo created by cropping it from sides. I thought that in this case extension rings would be handy.

So, that’s it for today. I am already looking forward having another photo session with freesias, hopefully it will be soon.

Enjoy weekend and let me know your opinions on these photos.

Technical information: all photographies in this post were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens mounted to a tripod, in natural conditions, indoors.

Actions

Information

8 responses

15 05 2011
Ken Bello

There is a surreal, abstract quality to these that I like a lot. Very nice. The macro lens is so sharp.

15 05 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Ken. Yes, the macro lens is extremely sharp – some photographers use it also for portrait photography.

18 05 2011
Ingrid - London UK

Great macro!! Shows you can find detail in almost anything!

19 05 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Ingrid. I try 🙂

22 05 2011
Bernie Kasper

Beautiful work Tomas…just trying to see if this will post.

22 05 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie. It seems to work well now. I hope that the problem was only temporary.

4 06 2011
Mark

These are really nice Tomas. Quite unique. They look like alien landscapes.

4 06 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Mark, I’m glad you like them. They really look like shots from another world.

Leave a Reply

