Tulips in Black & White

27 04 2011

Tulips are amazing flowers. So graceful and delicate with their thick wax petals, tall stems and proudly standing heads. We have been buying cut flowers to our bedroom very often in last months and tulips were the most frequent ones. Once we bought beautiful white tulips which turned out to be the variety with much more petals then only those surrounding the blossom’s center. I decided to try both high-key and low-key kind of photos with them beside some macro shots of center details which I will present in some of next posts. Now I would like to present one high key photo and one low key. Here is the first one:

~ FHK #011 – White Tulip ~
1/3 sec. @ 100 mm, f/10, ISO 100

It was tricky to get all subjects in the photo with right tonality because the leaf on the left side was very dark. Finally, the luminosity masking technique produced the best result.

Following photo is more classical low key image than those from previous post. I leave the judgment up to you.

~ FLK #003 – Trinity ~
1/3 sec. @ 100 mm, f/16, ISO 100

I tried various presets of conversion to B&W but after all I manualy changed the tones and their lightness in Lightroom. It was also a bit tricky to get all the details as I wanted. I wanted high contrast but I didn’t want to loose all details in leaves. I must say that I’m pretty happy with the result.

Let me know if you like these photos or not and why. What works for you, what would you change or do differently? This all helps me to understand how you perceive my creations and how could I do it better next time.

Enjoy spring!

Technical information: all photographies in this post were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens mounted to a tripod, in natural conditions, indoors.

Actions

Information

12 responses

27 04 2011
Barbara Kile

Already commented on Flickr, but you have a great subject here and love the b-w! Beautiful!

28 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Barbara.

29 04 2011
Mark

I like how the use of B&W really accents the form of the flowers in these Tomas.

29 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Mark. I like it also. By the way, I hope to find some time to follow your blog more frequently.

30 04 2011
Ken Bello

I think the tonality of the B&W is just beautiful. You did a great job with these. Also, I would like to say that the lighting and composition is very nice. I don’t think I would change anything on these.

30 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Ken. I appreciate it.

30 04 2011
tomwhelan

Lovely conversions, neat study in the effect of different backgrounds. I like the composition of the high key one, especially the partial main blossom. Classic-looking images.

30 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Tom. I’m glad you stopped here and liked it.

2 05 2011
milkayphoto

These are stunning Tomas! Your attention to preserving the details and getting the tones just right has paid off. ‘Trinity’ is simply gorgeous! Love the composition and the little highlighted leat tips. Bravo! 🙂

2 05 2011
Tomas Turecek

Oh, thank you very much, Tracy! Such a kind words always cheer me 🙂

14 05 2011
annejutras

Beautiful work!

14 05 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thank you for visit and comment, Anne.

Leave a Reply

