Getting to market, step 1

7 04 2011

I announced my goal for this year – getting my photos to a market – in one of my previous posts. I did some small preparations when a very pleasant surprise met me and I’ll write about it in one of my next posts for sure. Let’s focus on the “getting to market goal” now.

My first step on the road ought to be offering my photos in a gallery hosted by the printing company where I make my photos printed. I have already sent my photos there but they haven’t been published, yet. Ok, never mind. They will do it soon, I guess.

Maybe a month ago my wife stuck on a web site called fler.cz. My local visitors will probably know it. It is the biggest local web portal for artists and craftsmen (no mass production) allowing them to offer their products on the portal pages for a commission. Something like a local version of etsy.com. I browsed the shop and I really liked what I found there. Frankly, I like the stuff there more and more 🙂 Moreover, I looked through a gallery of photographers offering their photos there and I found out that such a type of photography as I’m doing is not present there so my work will “fill the gap” in their portfolio. And “fler” if it comes from “fleur” in French means a blossom! What a match 😀

~ Seedy Mum ~
4 sec. @ 100 mm, f/10, ISO 100

It took me some time before I finally decided to put my work on display and so from now on you can see and buy my first 15 photos there. There is a LOT of various photos on the server so I’m really wondering if my works will interest someone to buy it. Time will tell. I know that the key is to have a bigger offer than just 15 images and I plan to update it regularly. I’ll definitelly do a recap after some time and I’m really looking foward to it.

Until then, enjoy the spring in full bloom!

Technical information: all photographies in this post were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm USM macro lens mounted to a tripod, in natural conditions, indoors.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 04 2011
Ingrid - London UK

Good luck! I am sure you will sell your photographs.

8 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for the support, Ingrid! Let’s hope so. I am now offering my photos primarily localy, which means in Czech Republic, even though I don’t want to limit it only to this market. I am a bit afraid that local inquiry is small and even though my prices are not high there are photographers selling their work for much less, even though the quality will be probably questionable in these cases. If there will be at least some sale to support me I defintely plan to offer my work internationally because the market is incomaparably bigger and the more people the more tastes the higher possibility that someone will like my work and decides to buy it. As I wrote in the post, time will tell.

14 04 2011
Barbara Kile

Best of luck with your sales! Keep us informed!

14 04 2011
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Barbara, I will! 🙂

Leave a Reply

