Pink, pink, pink!

12 02 2010

It has been a while since my last post, more than 10 days. It seems that this is a hectic time of the year for everyone; people are busy neither having time for visiting blogs nor for posting. At least for me it is true.

I don’t have much to say today, perhaps it’s the unusually long and cold winter that makes me sleepy all the time.

Here is a photo of another lovely orchid that started to bloom and brighten our house, this time it is a pink Phalaenopsis. I tried different compositions and different backgrounds and come up with this one:

1.3 sec. @ 100 mm, f/18, ISO 100

You can see the stem there, I darkened it a bit to make it less distracting. I tried also white background thinking about high-key post-processing and the result is following:

0.8 sec. @ 100 mm, f/18, ISO 100

I cloned the stem here completely as it was too prominent and distracting. I like this result but was thinking about applying a texture. I found one called “Pink Floral” by pareeerica. I think that it complements these blossoms nicely. It might be a nice image for the Valentine’s Day, don’t you think?

Let me know if you like these images or not. Remember, it’s you who help me to be better.

Enjoy the winter and seek the beauty in everyday life!

Actions

Information

17 responses

13 02 2010
Anita Bower

Tomas:

I like all three of them. Lovely image. The diagonal positionting and tight crop work really well for me. Beautiful Orchids!

Using the different BGs with the same image shows what a difference the BG makes. I can’t decide between them. In the first, I think cloning out the stem would improve it.

🙂

13 02 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Anita. Your thoughtful comments are always appreciated. We, photographers, should choose what we will show to the world. We must make selection. But it is exactly as you say – it’s so hard to decide!

14 02 2010
Bernie Kasper

I like the high key without the texture Tomas, I think the texture distracts from the subject in the third one. The first one I would clone the stem out entirely, so I guess what I am saying is I like the second one best and think it’s a real keeper !!

15 02 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Bernie. I thought that the stem in the first photo won’t be so distracting but it seems that it still is.

19 02 2010
rem_la

j’aime bien la premiere avec son fond noir !

19 02 2010
Tomas Turecek

Merci beaucoup!

22 02 2010
Barbara K

I love the image with the texture. Beautifully composed and very nice PP work on that one!

22 02 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Barbara!

23 02 2010
edvatza

Good morning Tomas,

I guess I’ll complete the circle by saying I prefer the image with the black background. I understand what you did with the stem here but, believe it or not, I think I would like to see it just a little more visible… still dark but a little more green showing through. I think that anchors the flowers a bit. In the other two, the flowers appear floating in air – not a bad thing, just different.

Re: the texture. I think the texture is good but the flowers need to pop a bit more against the somewhat similar texture. Just my two cents, my friend.

24 02 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Ed. It is really interesting for me to read such a different responses on these images. You like the one with black background and would invite the stem even more visible while someone other likes the middle one best and the other loves the textured the most. With the first one, as I look at it now, I must agree with you that a slightly more hint of green would nicely support the blossoms. This is always a problem of monitor configuration because I see it brighter at home while a bit darker at work. I’m starting to understand why some photographers don’t pay much attention to digitalized photos but rather want to see them “printed” out.

Having said this I must once more say how glad I am that you visit my blog even though you might not like the photos I post lately. Your thoughtful comments and constructive criticism is and will be highly appreciated. I’m the kind of person who tries to always learn from his own mistakes and you help me with this process. Thank you!

Btw, your late photos from Longwood Gardens are amazing and whole place looks absolutely wonderful. It’s a pity that we don’t have such a “garden” here, at least I don’t know about any.

2 03 2010
Deepa

A dont know much about the tech side..love the captures..they are beautiful

3 03 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for visiting. You have some very nice images on your blog, too.

3 03 2010
Mark

I would have to say I like the 3rd one best with the texture. The black background one is nice, but I see so many orchids photographed this way. The second one doesn’t define the form enough for me. With the lighter background, I am more drawn away from the flowers than I am to them. The third one finds a happy balance.

I know what you mean about being busy. Sadly I have not been able to visit many of my regular blogs and keep up and also falling behind in my own posts.

5 03 2010
Tomas Turecek

Mark, thank you for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment. I try to capture flowers in unusual compositions but you are right that there is a lot of orchid photos everywhere lately.

Even though you are busy you keep your blog updated quite often and I thank for it 😉

5 03 2010
tinasphotoblog

I like the first photo with the black background because you see the colours of the orkidé best there. But I would be glad to get a card for birthday, valentines day with the third and last photo. They´re beautiful! 🙂

5 03 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thanks for visit and comment. Re. the postcard – shall I take it as an assignment? 😀

15 03 2010
Orchid Painting « Close Nature

[…] some texture overlay but was not really striving for it. I posted some other photos, for example these from the same session, and I came back to this photo only couple days ago. I decided to browse […]

Leave a Reply

