Pebbles

2 01 2010

One day I reallized that I could replace photos in our bathroom. It’s a trinity of square photos with common seashore theme. I immediately realized that I could make photos of small pebbles that we brought from our vacations in Croatia some years ago. They are quite small, only around 2cm in diameter and I think that they are pieces of marble. Some of them have thin veins of pale colours.

This was my very first attempt at still life photography, if it falls into this category, and it was really interesting. I tried different f-stops, different directions to the sun and different backgrounds.  After a heavy picking I ended up with series of photos with white and black background. I plan to use those with white background for prints to the bathroom while those with black looks good for presentation.

I like how our brain works. When we see something the brain tries to identify it either by telling us what exactly it is or what it looks like. The following pebble looks like a head with a lump to me. Or it look like a surface of some space orb taken from certain distance?

1 sec. @ 100mm, f/14, ISO 100

Except simply coloured backgrounds I used also a wooden plate with very nice pattern and colours that you can see in following image.

5 sec. @ 100 mm, f/18, ISO 100

I like a simplicity of some subjects such as in this case. I think that I’ll look for another subjects in our house that will be suitable for this kind of photography.

It’s good to expand your scope of things you usually shoot by trying something new. Try it and I hope that you’ll enjoy it as I did.

Enjoy these first days of new year!

Technical information: both images were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro lens upon a tripod under natural conditions – poor afternoon winter light during overcast day.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 01 2010
Mark

Congrats on trying something new Tomas. These probably have endless potential.

4 01 2010
Tomas Turecek

Thanks, Mark. Even though I plan to take more photos with flower and plant subjects I may want to try also something different. You’re right with the endless potential. I took shots of 4 different pebbles and there are many ways how to represent them solitary or combine them into series.

7 01 2010
Barbara K

Fun! I often wonder what these pebbles have been through: lots of weather, wind and rain, resulting in the marks you see. Nature tells so many stories. And each one is different in looks, experience and the story it tells. Good for you to branch out and try some new things. I collected rocks as a child and they are lovely.

12 01 2010
High Key Cyclamen and IOW! « Close Nature

[…] know that it means Image Of the Week. I was pleased when my photo Marble Pebble (originally posted here) was chosen as an image for current week on NatureScapes.net network (NSN) in Photo and Digital Art […]

Leave a Reply

