“Leavesfalls”/Chrysantemums

1 11 2009

As I wrote in previous post I felt certain demotivation in taking photos in last month or so. It was mainly caused by dismal weather –  misty mornings, overcast days with low level of light, dying and rotting flowers, leaves, bushes, this all played its role. When I returned from work it was already cold and dark outside so it was much better in warm inside. I had known that I needed to get over this feeling on my own but I also knew that it won’t be easy with nothing in bloom nowadays.

Last wednesday we had a bank holiday and when I was walking in our garden I was surprised by chrysantemums in full bloom. There were 3 different kinds: full blossomed dark red, star blossomed pale orange and full blossomed bright yellow. I observed them a bit and noticed that due to the fog and light drizzle the blossoms were literally soaked with water and covered by “millions” of small water dropplets. It caught my attention and I thought that it might be worthy to take couple of photos of them. I got inside, grabed my camera and got outside quickly and I felt better than in last weeks. Then I played with shooting close-ups of single blossoms, bending over them, squating under them, moving a bit to the left and a bit to the right, you all know this dance 😀 After taking some 150 photos (a usual amount for one theme) I hurried home, downloaded phototos to PC and while I was looking at my results I felt much better and I felt the demotivation disappearing.

Here you can see 3 photos which I considered as the best.

Chrysantemum-I

1/100 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 320, 2 stacked images for wider DOF

Chrysantemum-II

1/80 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 800

Chrysantemum-III

1/100 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 500

Technical information: all photos were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro lens under natural conditions (fog, drizzle, overcast).

I want to append a short story about the name that I chose for this post. When I was looking for some information about these flowers on the net I found out that they have beautiful name in Czech – listopadka. This name is derived from the name of November which is in Czech “listopad” and means “leaves fall” or “leaves are falling”. I liked this name so much that I decided to create it in English and use it as a name for this post – Leavesfalls.

My message for today is: whenever you find yourself demotived from taking photos, it’s only you who can help you. Try to grab all the power you yet have in yourself, take your camera, look for something interesting and try to capture it until you are satisfied with the result. Try to focus only on taking pictures, leave anything else out of your mind and I’m sure that not only it will help you but you will feel better and you will come out with some interesting images! — Similar message was posted a long time ago on blog by Michael Brown and here I resend it to others.

Enjoy even these miserable wet and cold days and try to find something beautiful every day. Beauty surrounds us all the time!

Actions

Information

10 responses

2 11 2009
Bernie Kasper

Great advice Tomas, love the images but the top one really draws me in, beautiful work !!

2 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie. I like these images very much and I’m wondering what others will say.

2 11 2009
edvatza

You are right. The motivation has to come from within and that can be tough somedays. But you are also right in saying there is always beauty there to be captured.

The images are all very nice and well captured. I have one very similar to the second (from back in early spring) but I believe that particular flower is a Gerber Daisy. I really like the perspective from the back of the flowers but wish you had gotten the focal plane such that the bottom of the flower was also in focus.

2 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Ed. The Chrysanthemum in the 2nd image is quite similar to Gerber Daisy especially from bottom side. To the focal plane – I haven’t checked the image at place so I haven’t noticed that petals are not in focus but I must say that the focus is where I wanted it and that is on the green “basement” of the blossom. Now looking on EXIF I can see that even if I wanted higher f-number it was impossible as I used ISO 800 and yet the shutter speed was 1/80sec. so it was mission impossible without a tripod. But I agree that it would be better with petals in focus.

2 11 2009
Barbara K

Yes, you will love your new tripod and these are all beauties! I have to have flowers in my life, so when I can’t photograph them in their natural habitat, I bring them inside. Do what you have to do! Photographing them inside in the winter will improve your ‘eye’ and techniques so when spring comes, you’ll have even a better eye for capturing them. Your compositions here are all great. Keep shooting!

2 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Barabara for such encouraging words! Actually, upcoming winter is another reason for a tripod because there is not enough light at home to take photos hand held. I’m also looking for some cheaper variant of light (lamp+good bulb) because a studio lamp costs around 90 USD here and that is at least twice more than what I’m willing to pay in addition to 300 USD for the tripod. I’m also looking forward shooting inside but maybe I’ll have to wait a bit as my wife wants to give me the tripod as a christmas gift 😀

3 11 2009
Anita

Sometimes we just have to make ourselves take photos to get out of our funks.

My favorite is the top one. Lovely composition and colors. I like how you captured the water drops, which give it an interesting look.

I’m learning that macros of flowers require flowers in pristine condition, or, a bit of cloning. The second image is marred by the brown spots on the green. This happens to me all the time.

3 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

I think that “Sometimes we just have to make ourselves take photos to get out of our funks” is valid for any activity, not only for taking photos and yes, I agree with it.

Regarding the pristine condition of flowers that we are taken photos of, I mostly agree with you but there are occasions when the imperfection in the flower is what attracts you and it become your subject. Here the brown parts spoils the image, you’re right. Yet I liked it so that I decided to share it with you.

Thanks for your comments Anita!

3 11 2009
Jules K

Very nice macros, Thomas! Your eye for composition is really getting fine tuned these days. I actually like the last one the best – love the complimentary colors in that one!

3 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Oh, thank you for the compliment Jules, I try 😉 The complimentary colours was exactly what attracted me. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

