Asters

29 10 2009

This is tough season for me. In September when we had an Indian Summer here and trees were slowly turning their colours there was wind all the time and I didn’t take much photos. In that time I didn’t know that it’s going to change…to even worse 😦 Whole October was cold with miserable weather – often rain showers, chilly wind, misty mornings and often not only mornings. As we are used to say: you wouldn’t force even your dog out. As the weather was in misery so was I. Demotivated, frustrated and wanting only to be in warm inside of our house. There was even so low light that any shooting without a tripod was out of question.

I hope that it will be at least a bit better in next weeks and I’ll find enough strength (both physical and mental) to force myself out to take some photos. But with shorter and shorter days it will be impossible soon.

Here are ones of last photos that I took sometimes back in September.

Aster-I

1/250 sec. @ 100 mm, f/10, ISO 200

Aster-II

1/125 sec. @ 100 mm, f/5.6, ISO 200

Aster-III

1/100 sec. @ 100 mm, f/5.6, ISO 200

Technical information: all photos were taken with Canon EOS 450D camera and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro lens under natural conditions.

I was interested by different colours in these asters and by curved thin petals pointing in all the different directions. I think that asters are ideal flowers for macro and close-up floral photography and if you didn’t try to shoot some, give them a try. You’ll by very probably surprised by the results. It’s good to shoot them in no wind because the blossoms are very lightweight and sitting on a thin stem they will move even in the slightest breeze. A good tripod is also very recommended here and I regret that I still don’t own one.

I hope that I will post more photos soon so be sure to come back and check it out.

Until then, enjoy the autumn in its full strength!

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 10 2009
Anita

These are lovely! I like that you got close in. Lovely colores, curves, textures, light. Very beautiful. I’m puzzled as they don’t look like asters to me. I’m impressed that you are steady enough to hand-hold your camers. I can’t shoot without a tripod.

29 10 2009
Tomas Turecek

Anita, I’m glad that you like them. A posititive critique is always pleasing, especially when it is by you. To the steady hands, I believe that I have a pair of them but sometimes it is really a pain to take at least fine shot. Sometimes, hands shake, back aches and if wind blows then it’s mission impossible 😦 I usually need to take more shots to get focus plane exactly where I want it, this wouldn’t be needed with a solid tripod and that’s also the reason why I’m slowly getting to ordering one.

30 10 2009
Mark

Glad you were able to get out Tomas. I didn’t know there were that many varieties of asters. These are some real gems.

30 10 2009
Tomas Turecek

Glad for your visit Mark. I think that these are some china asters but I don’t know it exactly.

1 11 2009
edvatza

Excellent macro work, Tomas. It is difficult enough to get the perfect shot with a tripod, you did an excellent job handheld. The compositions are very good but, to my eye, the colors carry the show here. Your posts are worth waiting for. Well done.

1 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Ed for such hearty words! To be honest, I’m not very happy with composition in 2nd and 3rd image but I like them enough to share them with others 🙂 And I like the colours very much.
I think the main advantage of shooting without a tripod is the freedom of movement. I always try a big number of compositions while searching for the right one and I’m a bit sceptic about this freedom with tripod. Well, I’ll have possibility of trying it in reality soon as I placed my order for a tripod an hour ago.

2 11 2009
Bernie Kasper

Wonderful images Tomas, no way I could be this off without a tripod, great work !!

2 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Taking macro photos without a tripod is not as hard as it may seem. I think that it only needs a little practice. Nevertheless tripod is a big advantage once you find a pleasing composition. Thanks for stopping by!

2 11 2009
Barbara K

Well, you’ve been busy since I’ve been out of town! Lovely work here, Tomas! I love the compositions of #1 and #2 the best, but the colors are wonderful. #1 has its own personality and I love it when flowers show off!

2 11 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks again for your kind words Barbara. I like #1 the most, for it’s composition and beautiful white tones. These asters are wonderful as their petals are nicely curved and placed really chaotically. Had I have a tripod then I’m pretty sure that I would have more images and far better then these. I tried some shots with f/2.8 and it was absolutely amazing with the violet flower but but I wasn’t able to keep my hands still enough to have sharp image and then I haven’t spotted the same composition again 😦 Next time.

Leave a Reply

