Another cactus series

25 09 2009

Autumn is slowly approaching and I still have some summer photos to post such as these ones. They were taken in the middle of August and the cactus on them is of a genus which is unknown to me, perhaps a Ferocactus. If you can help me with the ID I’d be glad. I have nothing much to say today.

Unknown-cactus-I

1/100 sec. @ 100 mm, F 10, ISO 100

Unknown-cactus-II

1/125 sec. @ 100 mm, F 10, ISO 100

I liked how the sun light shone through the petals making them glow. I tried both low and higher f-stop, which one do you prefer?

Unknown-cactus-III

1/400 sec. @ 100 mm, F 2.8, ISO 100

Unknown-cactus-IV

1/60 sec. @ 100 mm, F 10, ISO 100

Technical details: all photos were taken with camera Canon EOS 450D and Canon EF 100mm macro USM lens under natural conditions.

I hope you like it and will be glad for any comments on how to improve it.

Enjoy the autumn and its colours!

Actions

Information

9 responses

28 09 2009
edvatza

Ah, more yellows exposed beautifully. I really like the second image where you filled the frame with the flower. Very nice. Of the final two, I prefer the one shot at f/10. With more in focus it gives my weary old eyes a resting place which seems lacking in the image shot wide open.

28 09 2009
Barbara

Well, I love filling the frame, so I like #2 a lot! Nice center sharpness and composition. I like #4 with the selective focus. The red really glows! Lovely flower on this cactus.

28 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Ed and Barbara: thank you for your comments! It seems that you have same tastes. I’m glad that you like these photos.

29 09 2009
Anita

Beautiful reds and yellows. No. 2 is excellent–beautifully composed and executed. Of the last 2, I may prefer the soft focus.

29 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Anita, I appreciate your opinion!

8 10 2009
Dulcie

I like #1 for the excellent detail ! And #3 & #4 for the abstraction….they appear as flowers on fire. Love that!

13 10 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you very much, Dulcie.

14 10 2009
Bernie Kasper

Great shots Tomas, love #2 especially, frame filling and center detail is really nice in it, well done !!

6 01 2010
First year of photography « Close Nature

[…] Unknown cactus – Another beautiful blossom with amazingly vivid colours. Unfortunately, the day when I took this photo was not hot enough, only around 25°C, and the stamens were not “standing” but leaning toward the stigma. More photos of this cactus are here. […]

Leave a Reply

