Roses, roses…

18 09 2009

Well, actually I have only one rose to show you but I like how the title sounds 🙂

A season of roses is slowly getting to its end. I like roses, they are so fragile, exist in so many colours varieties and smell beautifully in contrast to many other flowers. It’s interesting that even though they are so beautiful ,and thus a perfect subject for flower photography, it’s not easy to take photos of them, especially close-up or macro photos. First, you need to find a blossom which is in a perfect shape, this may be a problem and it may take a while even in a rose garden. Second, you need to find suitable composition which may also be a problem. You can always take a photo of a flower as a whole but that’s usually not very interesting, at least for me. If you are going to take some close-up or macro shots then it’s good if the flower is not opened yet and some stage of a bud is always good. In my opinion the best blossom for shooting is a bud with only couple of petals open or half open as a whole. Once it is fully open it’s almost impossible for me to find a composition that would satisfy me.

When I was coming home from work last Monday I was passing rose bushes next to our gate and one yellow rose bud caught my attention. It was very windy that day, sky was strongly overcast and as it was after 5 p.m. there was not much light remaining. I hurried to the house, took my camera, cut the blossom, put  it in a vase, took it outside to a place where a wind would get only rarely and started shooting. During some 30-40 minutes I took over 100 photos with different compositions, f-stop numbers and ISO. Unfortunately as I was shooting it was getting darker and darker and I ended with ISO 400 and lowest f-number on 4 😦 Without a tripod I couldn’t do much more about it. Here you can see 2 photos which are the best from this session, in my opinion.

Yellow-Rose-I

1/125 sec. @ 100mm, F5, ISO 400

Yellow-Rose-II-stacked

1/60 sec., 1/125 sec. @ 100mm, f/4, ISO 200-400, 3 stacked images

I took maybe several hundreds of photos of roses in past months and years trying to capture the beauty of it but I was never happy with the results. I’m quite happy with these two. Are you happy with them as well?

Have a nice weekend and enjoy the fall!

Actions

Information

11 responses

18 09 2009
Barbara

Well, it matters most that YOU are happy with them, but I have to say you did a marvelous job with these. Your lines leading to the center draw my eye right in, the compositions are great and you have some edge softness which I like in these. The vertical is my slight preference. Nice work, Tomas!
If your open to online photo courses, which I’ve done a few, there are 2 great pros I know who do flower photography courses online. You love photographing plants and flowers, so thought you might be interested. Holler if you want more info.

21 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Barbara for your support and nice comment. I am pleased that you like it.

To the online courses, I sent you a message using your blog.

22 09 2009
edvatza

Very nice images, Tomas. You have managed the color very well. I find yellow roses in particular to be very difficult to expose properly. One of my favorite winter activities is macro/close-up photography of cut flowers, particularly roses. So I too have made 100s of images and discarded most of them.

22 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Ed, thank you for stopping by. Yes, I also find roses quite difficult to expose and the brighter the worse. They really reflect a lot of light which often results in highlighted edges. I’ve been recommended to try a polarizer filter but I haven’t, yet. I shot this rose under heavy overcast which probably helped the colours.

23 09 2009
Anita

I think they are gorgeous, especially the first one. Beautiful softness, light and dark patterns, swirls, composition, color. Well done.

24 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Anita for your compliments. I’m glad that you like them and that you have time to browse other blogs again. You’re welcome here anytime.

25 09 2009
Mark

I like both – it is great when you can make a composition work equally as well vertically and horizontally.

25 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Mark for stopping by and giving a kind comment.

26 09 2009
Jules K

Beautifully created, Tom. On the top image, have you considered flipping it vertically so the weight of the image is at the bottom instead of the top?

26 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Hi Jules, yes, I tried to rotate the top image to all possibile positions but this one is only working for me. When rotated or flipped the composition somehow doesn’t work. Thanks for stopping by and leaving suggestion!

6 01 2010
First year of photography « Close Nature

[…] This time I was really happy with the result It was previously published with one more photo in this […]

Leave a Reply

