1000th visit!

12 09 2009

If someone asked me how many visits I expect to have in 3 months when I started this blog I would probably say that I’ll be happy with couple of hundreds. I never thought that it will be 1000 before 3rd month will get to its end!

To be precise:

  • starting date of this blog: June 29, 2009
  • 1000th visit: September 12, 2009

This makes only 76 days since the blog saw the light of the world and it makes appx. 13 visits per day. It may not be much to one but it’s pretty much to me. I want to thank you all who visited my blog in this time and much more to those who regularly returns and leave comments. I really appreciate it and THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! I hope that I will give you enough of reasons to come back for long time.

Now I must apologize that I haven’t posted any new photos in last couple of weeks. I spent some time on vacations with my family and then I wasn’t able to find enough time to process some new images. I hope that it will be better in next days and weeks. Thank you for your patience.

I was thinking about posting something original for this special occasion and finaly I decided to post following orchid image. It’s not much original from compositional point of view or from topic point of view but it’s original as I haven’t posted a single orchid photo here, yet.

Phalaenopsis_maco_white

I hope you like it.
Enjoy the indian summer (where you have it) or the incoming autumn (where you don’t)!

Actions

Information

10 responses

14 09 2009
Barbara

I love orchids. Got more? 🙂
Nice close up, but wondered what the black rectangle was?
It’s composed nicely. Congrats on your 1000th visit!

14 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Hi Barbara, sure I got more 🙂 I’ll plan to create some post about orchids. I also like orchids very much because they have wonderful blossoms and blooms for a month or even longer. We have 5 or 6 six of them at home, almost all of them of genus Phalaenopsis, and at least 1 is blooming all the time.
To be honest I find it quite difficult to take photos of them because of composition – with many blossoms which overlays very often it’s hard for me to find suitable composition. Another problem is structure of petal leaves which is crystal-like and it glitters if lit by strong light, especially white varieties.

Barbara and Ed: The dark rectangle is simply a hole between petals and as I took the photo at home it turned out to be so dark because only blossoms where lit by sun light. I know that it is a bit distracting and as I said, it’s quite difficult for me to find a pleasing composition. This one looks good for me so I decided to post it.

Thanks for comments

14 09 2009
edvatza

I was about to ask the same question as Barbara. I like the detail but the black rectangle keeps pulling my eye to it as I try (unsuccessfully) to figure out what it is.

14 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you, Ed, for stopping by. Read answer to your question in my reply to Barbara’s comment.

14 09 2009
Barbara

Yes, I feel they are a challenge to photograph too! Perhaps you can google ‘orchid photography’ and find how others are doing it. That’s what I did once. Lighting the area behind the flower may work too, (off camera flash) or photograph in shade or more even light. Then there are the ‘creative choices’ of whether to present the flower as a portrait, get in close for a super macro, or……. all those other choices! Keep shooting and experimenting. They will be beautiful.

14 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Yes, I know what you mean. It’s a real challenge and all those possibilities makes it even more challenging. Thank for the tip to look how others do it. I don’t see many orchid photos on forums and it didn’t cross my mind to look for it. I only know that I want to shoot them originally 🙂 I find it also easier to take photos of whole stem with bunch of blossoms then only 1 or 2 blossoms. Thanks for support and encouragment!

15 09 2009
Barbara

Yes, if you have a good background, shooting the whole stem or most of it is probably the best bet. I couldn’t quite pull that off when I tried – I have limited ‘backgrounds’ in my yard. Checking in with a couple of the major stock photography companies might give some thoughts. Backgrounds are tough, but if you use a solid such as fabric, white, black, etc, you could add a vignette or something…… I usually see orchids against a white bg, which might be a good first attempt, just to concentrate on composition. Then if you converted to B&W you’ll be all set! 🙂
http://www.gettyimages.com/
http://pro.corbis.com/

Sometimes I need a ‘jump start’ to get the juices flowing. Good luck!

15 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Barbara for such a support and your ideas! I really appreciate it. I had taken some orchid image in last years and usually cut them off in Photoshop and added black background. It looked well but I don’t want to do it this way any more as it is a bit artificial to me. I took a couple of photos maybe one or two months ago when more of our orchids were in a bloom and I plan to play with them a bit. Inspired by your work and work of Anita Bower I plan to try some textures to those where I’m not quite happy with background. Let’s see what comes out of it. It’ll be a topic of one of my posts in future for sure. Thank you once again!

22 09 2009
tomwhelan

Congrats on all of the traffic – lovely orchid image.

22 09 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Tom, I really appreciate you stopping by! Somehow the traffic slowed down in last weeks, I guess that a busy season started after a leisure summer.

Leave a Reply

