Notocactus

20 08 2009

Today I would like to present here photos of a cactus of genus Parodia, also called Notocactus. The genus has about 50 species with beautiful fragile blossoms with colours ranging from white/grayish through yellow and pink to bright red. The one in my wife’s collection bloomed some 2 weeks ago with wonderful bright yellow blossoms with reddish petal tips and fantastic purple pistils. I couldn’t resist to take a couple of photos.

Notocactus-I

1/500 sec. @ 100mm, f/5.6, ISO 200

Notocactus-II

1/125 sec. @ 100mm, f/13, ISO 200

Notocactus-III

1/200 sec. @ 100mm, f/6.3, ISO 100

Technical details: all photos were taken with Canon EOS 450D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 macro USM lens.

I hope you like it. Enjoy the ending summer!

Actions

Information

9 responses

21 08 2009
Bernie Kasper

All three are nice Tomas, but the first one is my favorite, I like the inclusion of the thorns with the bloom it makes an interesting contrast !!

Well done !!

21 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

That was my intention. If a blossom is not so big I always try to make a photo where the blossom is in contrast to thorns as I like it too. Thanks for stopping by Bernie.

22 08 2009
Mark

I always liked the opposing textures in blooming cacti – thorny vs. soft and flowery. I think they can make for some very interesting compositions – and you certainly did well with them here.

24 08 2009
Barbara

All are lovely, but I especially like the clarity of the center image. Nice lines in the background of the flower. I’m in Texas…… I should be shooting cacti!
🙂

24 08 2009
edvatza

Good morning Tomas. Very nice series. The three images are all very different and all pleasing to the eye. I find each one intriguing for its own reason. Nicely done.

27 08 2009
Harold Stiver

Very nice.

Cactus do make such great photography subjects.

Cheers, Harold

30 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Back from 1-week vacations, ready to reply and create new posts. Thank you all for your kind comments. I’m glad that you like those cacti photos, I’ll post at least another 2 or 3 cacti series which bloomed in last month.

30 08 2009
Anita

Lovely series. The yellow with that bit of red is gorgeous. Each photo is sufficiently different to highlight different aspect of the flower. Your use of different f stops works beautifully to get the desired effects. Great work! Thanks for sharing with us the beauty of cacti.

30 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Anita for such nice words. It’s honor to hear it from you.

Leave a Reply

