A calla lily (Zantedeschia)

12 08 2009

I bought this flower (of genus Zantedeschia) to my wife couple months ago. It was blooming very nicely so I took following photos but maybe a week or two later it loose the blossoms and leaves’ colour started to change to yellow. Nowadays it’s outside in our garden bloom-less and we wait if it will survive or not. I hope that yes because it’s  really nice flower.

To mention something about it I can say that it has very nice curved (and sometimes curled) leaves in colour of dark green with white spots, blossoms are rather big with thick petals and they can be found in various beautiful colours which varies from immaculate white through yellow, pink and red to very dark violet/purple with tints of black.  But beware, it’s very poisonous and its poison is so strong that it can kill a pet or even a child when a part of it is swallowed!

Zantedeschia-I

1/125 sec. @ 150mm, F10, ISO 800

Zantedeschia-II

1/50 sec. @ 111mm, F10, ISO 800

I-A-Border-772px

~ Floral Curves Series ~
1/200 sec. @ 165mm, F4, ISO 200

The last image is an abstract of these beautiful colours and it belongs to my Floral Curves Series.

Technical information: all images were taken with Canon EOS 450D, Canon EF L IS USM 70-200mm F4 lens and Hoya close-up +4 filter.

Your comments are really appreciated. Enjoy the summer while it is still here!

Actions

Information

15 responses

12 08 2009
Barbara

Oh, #3 is my favorite! Excellent ‘edge’ shot and the colors and background are lovely. Simple, no distractions, just wonderful color contrasts. Nicely done!

12 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Barbara, I appreciate it!

13 08 2009
Bernie Kasper

These are beautiful Tomas, I love the peek-a-boo effect in the first one and the color and lines in the third one are amazing as well, outstanding images IMHO !!

13 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie for your kind words. #3 has been posted on couple of forums and it was very well taken (I’m too humble to say that it was praised 🙂 ). It’s a pity that the flower is not doing well so I can’t work with it more 😦

17 08 2009
Jemny

the last one is best one for me… the edge and colour is simply great

17 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Jemny. I posted it on couple of forums and it was very well taken and commented.

17 08 2009
edvatza

Beautiful series, Tomas. I particularly like the first and the third. The color is wonderful. The focus and dof are perfect. You nailed it with these images.

17 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Ed for such a nice comment. It’s a pity that the flower seems to be closer to its death than to a life 😦 I hope that it will come to life again.

17 08 2009
MARIANA

Brilliant set ! Congratulation on all this work !

17 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Mariana for stopping by and commenting. I hope you’ll come back soon.

22 08 2009
Mark

Isn’t it great finding imagery in the simple details? The curve of the petal in the last one here is terrific.

30 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

I like playing with a theme – looking at it from different angles, in direct light, contra light, from distance and from close proximity, looking for interesting compositions and details. Thanks for stopping by Mark!

30 08 2009
Anita

Another great series. I love Calla Lilies! They are perfect for photographing. In the first image, I like how there is blurring all around the yellow center, framing it. Also love the lines! The second image is not quite as strong, though I love the detail inside the flower. The last one is gorgeaous! Simple, graceful, beautiful.

30 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

I agree that Calla Lilies are just perfect for photographing. It’s only a pity that they are not seen often in my homeland. Thanks for lovely comment, Anita.

6 01 2010
First year of photography « Close Nature

[…] it dried quite quickly and for unknown reason. You can find more Zantedeschia images in this […]

Leave a Reply

