Echinopsis cactus in colour

1 08 2009

When I posted black & white macro photos of Echinopsis cactus I haven’t thought that you will want to see them in colour so much. As I wrote I transformed them into B&W because I don’t find echinopsis colours as appealing but it’s truth that every human being has different perception and so many of you may like colour versions much more than me. So here they are:

Echinopsis-I-in-colour

1/160 sec. @ 100 mm, f/5, ISO 200

Echinopsis-II-in-colour

1/800 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4.5, ISO 200

Echinopsis-III-in-colour

1/125 sec. @ 100 mm, f/4, ISO 200

Technical information: all photos were taken with Canon EOS 450D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 macro USM lens, hanheld and under natural conditions.

Let me know what you think, if you like these or B&W more,and … enjoy the summer!

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 08 2009
Bernie Kasper

Great shots Tomas, I thought I liked them better as a B&W conversion now I am not so sure, the first one is especially lovely in color.

The pastel colors surrounding the stamen is beautiful, well done !!

2 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Bernie. It’s funny how we can’t decide sometimes. I have rather impressionistic perception, I like colours and colour contrasts very much but I like also simplicity and I think that this is the case where I can forget colours and enjoy only simple curves and shapes.

2 08 2009
Barbara

Oh, the colors are wonderful – love the pastels! It’s a ‘toss-up’ ……. I guess my vote would be the B&W because without the color the wonderful lines and graceful shapes are so much more apparent. Isn’t it fun we have these options?
🙂

2 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

It is fun, Barbara 🙂 I liked the colours when I took these photos but I didn’t like them later on monitor. Did I do something wrong? No, I think that I only realized that I like those curves and shapes much more and colours distract one when you want to fully enjoy them. Thanks for stopping by!

4 08 2009
Anita

Being a color person, I like these. The B&W of the top image, however, was really effective. In this series, I especially like the last image–great compositon and soft colors.

4 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Anita.

7 08 2009
edvatza

The color is subtle in these flowers but I think it works well. Personally, I much prefer the color versions over the black and white (and I do like many b/w photos).

7 08 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thank you Ed.

Leave a Reply

