A new toy

10 07 2009

Just a short announcement today. I received my new toy yesterday and this toy is nothing else than Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM lens (see the Equipment page for more details). Thanks to Oehling e-shop for quick delivery.

I’m going to our cottage in the mountains with my family for this weekend so I hope I’ll have a plenty of opportunities to play with it. I’ll post first impressions and hopefully also some first shots early next week.

I had only a couple of minutes to try it yesterday and the very first impression was “Damn, the auto focusing is really quick!” It’s faster than an eye wink even in cases when focusing through whole focusing range! As I’m now thinking about it the very first impression probably was when I took it out of the box and the impression was “It’s moderately heavy”, it’s around 600 grams. The quickness was the second one. The third impression was that the focusing seems to be quite reliable in good lightning conditions but failing sometimes in bad light.

OK, that’s all for today. Have a nice weekend!
Tomas.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 07 2009
Jemny

gratz! I am looking forward your images…

10 07 2009
Tomas Turecek

Thanks Jemny. I’ll try to do my best 🙂
Tomas.

Leave a Reply

